Archive · Community News · Parents · School Board · Staff · Students

R-P Duo Captures Coveted Showstopper Award

Showcase is an annual fine arts competition among schools in West Michigan. The competition traces its roots back to 1981. Reeths­Puffer has had a strong connection to the show since its inception as we have participated with talented acts and have provided the stage crew each and every year. The awards in the four performing categories are: 3rd place – $300.00, 2nd places – $500.00 and 1st place – $1,000.00 3 scholarships. There is also an overall “Showstopper” award given out which carries a $1000 prize as well.

Our duo performance pair is Jarrett Bassett and Josh Robidoux. They performed a dialogue by BriTANicK called “A Monologue for Thee.”  In the piece, Jarrett struggles to find his line and Josh takes Jarrett on a circuitous journey to get back on track.  Their performance was spot-on and earned them the coveted “Showstopper” award!


Pictured with Jarrett and Josh is Mr. Gary Ostrom, long-time editor for the Muskegon Chronicle.  The Showstopper award is named in his honor for his dedication and commitment to Showcase over its 35-year history.

Our Showcase student representatives were as follows:

In academics, our honoree is Mackenzie Goltz. Mackenzie is our valedictorian for the class of 2016 and has earned numerous accolades and awards.

In athletics, Kalisa Williams and Sean McWilliams are the female and male honorees. Athletics and Academic honorees do not compete, but are brought onto the stage and their narrative is delivered by the host for the evening to allow all to hear of their talents and awards.

Our visual artist is Trenton Bouchard. His untitled graphite drawing will be on exhibit in the Betty Clark-Canon Studio in the Hilt Building until April 17th.

Our literary artist is Matthew Johnston. He wrote an 8 page personal narrative, “18 Years on a Bike” which details his unique formative years spent on his bicycle on both sides of Muskegon Lake as well as challenging family struggles.

Our group performance was the band AAB made up of Jordan Martin, Lauren Martin, Evan Hodson and Matt Jeroy. They performed the classic Rush tune “YYZ.”