Archive · Community News · Parents · School Board · Staff · Students

NHS Inducts 40 New Members

The Monteith-Richard Chapter of NHS (R-PHS Chapter) inducted forty new members Sunday night in a very well done ceremony on campus.  Mrs. Julie Milder and NHS officers: President, Tiarra Elliott, Vice-President Kaitlyn Reed, Treasurer Erin Crummel and Secretary Audry Fox shared thoughtful messages to our new inductees during the ceremony.

The history of our NHS Chapter goes back to the graduating class of 1961.  Long-time math teacher, Mr. Angelo Bernideni was our chapter’s first advisor.  The name given to our chapter, the Monteith-Richard chapter, is in recognition of two men who had great influence on the organizational structure of Michigan’s school system.  Gabriel Richard was a French priest and John Monteith a Presbyterian minister.  These two in collaboration with Judge Augustus Woodward were responsible for the act by the territorial legislature in 1817 which created the University of Michigan.  Monteith served as the first president of Uof M while Richard was his vice-president.

We are proud to announce the following students as our newest members of our high school’s NHS Chapter:

Matthew Bell, Joshua Blackburn, Amanda Bolak, Sierra Boyd, Joseph Champoux, Noah Cramer, Emily Cross, Deja Dawkins, Andrew DeYoung, Tristin Franckowiak, Landon Fortenberry, Kaylin Gaylord, Lyric Glaser, Halina Halasinski, Austin Hardy, Kayla Hobby, Corinna Irvine, Kaley Johnson, Zachary Kidd, Collin Kolbe, Melanie Leary, Alec Mavis, Jesse Miller, Hannah Moss, Andrew Ostoin, Tori Palmer, Naomi Parker, Micah Peel, Caleb Sheffer, William Silvey, Chase Smith, Gwendolyn Swanson, Taylor Szost, Madison Trautner, Kylee VanderMeer, Ayla Vaughn, Brenna Veihl, Summer Yeck, Brian Yonkman and Sierra Young

Click on the link provided below to view photos taken from the ceremony.

NHS Induction Ceremony